How to wear boots to work (without looking like a hooker)

Boots header

I had a request from one of my facebook followers (shout out to Melissa) to do a post on office appropriate boots. This is a common question I get all of the time. How do you wear boots to the office and still look stylish yet professional? Generally speaking, you want to stay away from the patent leather, sky high heels and over the knee boots. Sorry, I know they are cute, but they scream I’m goin to the club in an office environment. Here are a few tips for keeping your office boots appropriate.

1. Wear Tights

If you are wearing a skirt or a dress wear tights with your booties or tall boots. It makes the look a little more conservative by showing less skin. Be sure your skirt is an appropriate length as well.  Another great trend you can wear at the office is socks with boots. Try a pair of booties with some knee high socks. It will give the illusion of tall boots with an unexpected twist.

Ok, I know these arent boots, but you get the idea. This paired with a cute skirt or dress would be a trendy office look.

2. No open toes

I know, I know the open toe boots are in, but depending on the type of office you work in, it’s just not professional. If you work in a more casual environment, you might be able to get away with them but proceed with caution.

3. Skinny jeans illusion

Besides the obvious, wearing your boots under your trousers, if you work in a more casual office environment you can probably get away with skinny pants (not jeans)  and tuck your tall boots  into them.

This great pair is from Banana Republic for $89. Just make sure they don’t fit too tight.

Now to break it down by boot.

Short Boots and Booties

The key is to keep is simple and conservative no super flashy materials or too many embellishments and no sky high heels.  A pair like this with some tights and a conservative skirt, dress or cute trousers will work.

Notice how they are a neutral color, matte,have a  low heel and not much embellishment, yet they are still cute.

Tall Boots

When wearing tall boots the same rules as above apply. Think conservative. In fact, the more conservative your outfit the hotter your boots can be (at least in my opinion) I love love love these loubus as an everyday brown boot even though they are a little tall for the office.

Hot.

These would work too.

Over the knee boots

These are a no no, no matter what kind of office you work at. You don’t want your boss and coworkers to look at you and think dominatrix. So none of these…

Sorry girls. I know they are cute but save them for after five.

Usually, when I wear boots to the office I stick with these.

I have had them for years and I absolutely love them. They go with everything! I don’t wear heels to the office because I usually roll out of bed and grab the first thing I see.  I hate to admit it, but its true. I hate getting up for work , so some mornings I just dont care. I will usually grab something basic then jazz myself up once I get to the office.

What kind of boots do you guys wear to the office?

Comments
3 Responses to “How to wear boots to work (without looking like a hooker)”
  1. CMC says:

    Great recommendations.! However I do think you can wear over the knee boots to work as long as your skirt or dress is below your knee and is simple/dark in color, then they will blend in as if you were wearing tights/stockings/leggings. Anna Wintour of Vogue wears them all the time with her long dresses and looks super chic. Its bold but who says you can’t be hot @ work!

  2. imagemaven says:

    @CMC I guess you could. I never thought about that!

  3. tara says:

    where and what brand are the last pair of brown boots from? Love them!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers

