My workout routine

As y’all know from the previous post. I don’t really like to work out.  Wait I’m lying..I hate it, but it’s necessary.  My workout routine right now is training to  compete in sprint triathlons which consist of the following

300 meter swim

12 mile bike

and a 3 mile run.

and the BEST part, finishing!

It’s that bad (no really) , plus its the shortest triathlon distance you can complete in.  It’s a great way to stay in shape and it’s also a great motivator to work out regularly because it’s not just a workout, you are training for an event. It makes you think twice before missing a workout.

Here is my usual training schedule

Mon

Bike 12 mile (interval training), P90X abs (video below), weight training

Tues

Run 2-3 miles, swim 300 meters (work on technique)

Wed

Spin class followed by a total body weights class

Thursday

Bike 12 miles , run 3 miles

Friday

Swim 300 meters, p90x abs, weight training

Sat & Sun – Chill in my bed lol

Depending on where you are in your  workout routine that may seem like a bit much, but I didn’t start off there.  In middle school and high school, I always played sports, track, basketball, volleyball, etc. But when I went to college, I stopped working out completely. My senior year, I took a yoga class that changed my outlook on working out. I felt like I could fit it into my routine. From there, I started doing yoga for 30 min in the morning before I went to work 3 days a week . I started noticing  more definition in my arms and overall tone. That spurred me on. After a while, I got bored with my yoga and I switched to different workouts on DVD. Stuff I could do at the house like kick boxing, aerobics, dance, etc.  But I wasn’t noticing as much change in my body,  so one day I randomly decided to order P90x.  It was really hard, but after a while I got used to it.  I saw nice changes in my body. I probably would have seen more if I would have been more strict with the diet. oh well… But then I got bored with that too lol. My coworker Alex (pictured above in the red outfit) talked me into training for a triathlon with her so that’s how I got to where I am today. Well see how long it takes me to get bored with this.

**side note ** a great tool to track your workout, progress, calories burned, etc. is daily mile. You can join an add me as a friend too 🙂

Here are a few short workouts videos

P90x – **Tony horton voice **Ab.. Ripper.. X (part 1)

Yoga for beginners

Pilates sculpting

Comments
One Response to “My workout routine”
  1. ghostwiththemost says:

    Great job you’re getting there!

Leave a Reply

