Cheap Chic: Thrift and Vintage Store Shopping in Dallas

I’m super excited to write this post! It’s dedicated to my favorite thrift and vintage stores in Dallas. If you’re anything like me, you love to shop (what girl doesn’t?!), but you’re on a pretty tight budget or you just don’t like to spend an arm and a leg for new stuff . The solution: thrift stores and vintage stores! *Ta Da*

Here are a few of my fav stores:

Ahab Bowen

This cute little place is located in uptown at 2614 Boll Street. They have some crazy seriously vintage clothes and the best accessories in Dallas. This place is like a hidden treasure chest for accessories. Seriously. They have great funky, unique jewelry that you can’t find anywhere else. It’s also pretty affordable, pieces range from $10 -$20.

St. Vincent de Paul

This GINORMOUS thrift store is located at 3052 W. Northwest Highway. You could spend hours here…well at least I did. This place is not for shopping novices.  You have to dig for quality finds, but the store is very well-organized and makes that process easier.  You have to have an eye for fashion and putting together ensembles to find this place worth while.  That being said, this is my new fav places to shop! I have some pictures at the bottom of this post of some of the things I bought from there.

Lula B’s

Lula B’s is great vintage store located in artsy Deep Ellum at 2639 Main Street. This place is a one stop shop for furnature, dishes, pictures, accessories and of course clothes!  You have to go to this place to really appreciate it.  You could get lost for hours roaming and looking at all the crazy cool furniture.  When you venture to the back and up the stairs they have a nice little collection of vintage clothes and even costumes. I really love this place and the people that work there are awesome too!

Zola’s

Zola’s is located  in the super cute Bishop Arts district at 414 North Bishop Avenue. Although this store is ity bity they have great items and even better vintage purses and belts.

Buffalo Exchange

Buffalo Exchange is on lower Greenville at 3424 Greenville Avenue. This resale store is a great alternative to going to the mall. They have more recent clothes and sometimes designer jeans at big discounts. It’s a great place to fill in the gaps in your wardrobe. I have gotten great shoes and jewelery from here too.

Dolly Python

Sorry, dont have a pic of this one 😦 Dolly Python is at 1916 North Haskell Avenue.  This funky place has seriously vintage clothing, some of it borders on costumes, but it could work depending on the outfit you are trying to put together. I got a great little multi color mini skirt from here. In addition to clothes they have other vintage randomness records, tables, dishes, etc.

Clothes Horse Anonymous

Clothes  Horse Anonymous is located at 11661 Preston Road. This place is a great designer consignment store. It’s not cheap though. They have designer duds and accessories at serious discounts, but will still cost you a pretty penny. This is a great place to go when you are looking to buy a quality designer item, but can’t quite hand over the few hundred or few thousand dollars to purchase it. I got a great vintage Chanel bag from here that I wear with everything (pictured below)

Cheap Chic Photoshoot lol

All the pictures were taken by my friend Heather at Keyhole Photography. She’s awesome and affordable! Check her out here

This is the vintage Chanel I got from The Clothes Horse Anonymous.

Outfit: Jacket:St. Vincent de Paul $6! Shirt: Movida Boutique Mockingbird Station $30. Skirt: (which is really a dress) Forever 21 $15. Shoes: Aldo $80. Belt: Walmart $5 Jewelry: It was my Grandma’s

Outfit- Shirt: St Vincent de Paul $3. Skirt (which is actually a dress) Marshalls $3. Shoes: Nordstrom $50 Jewelry: Grandma’s

Outfit- Dress: Lula B’s $25 Shoes: Marshalls $30 Jewelry: Cuff: Tory Burch Earings: St Vincent de Paul $5

Outfit: Skirt: Urban Outfitters $15 Shirt: Nordstrom Rack $15 Jacket: H&M $25 Belt: Buffalo Exchange $5 Shoes: Target $9 Necklaces: Grandma’s  Cuff: Tory Burch

Outfit – Dress: St Vincent de Paul $6 Jacket: St Vincent de Paul $4 Belt: St. Vincent de Paul $3 Shoes: Taxi Taxi (in Houston) $15 Cuff: I dont remember! Earings: St. Vincent de Paul $5

Next time you are in your closet and feeling like you have nothing to wear and can’t afford to buy any thing new try some of these vintage and thrift stores to add new life to your old frocks. And who said you can’t get cute clothes for cheap?

Comments
13 Responses to “Cheap Chic: Thrift and Vintage Store Shopping in Dallas”
  1. Thomasina says:

    Whitney you look amazing!!! Look at those legs! I am only 5 ft 1 😦

  2. imagemaven says:

    Thanks Tommy! See but the advantage of being shorter is that you can get away with shorter dresses and skirts than me and not look like a hoochie mama.

  3. Hi Whitney,

    I love thrift stores and consignment shops as well. It seems that you have quite a collection of choices over in Texas. I’ve been living in Orlando, Florida for the past seven years and started researching shops in my area in the past year.

    Awesome outfits, too!

  4. imagemaven says:

    @ Carmen so where are the good places in Orlando?

    • Hi Whitney, These are a handful of places that I’ve enjoyed here in Orlando!

      Dechoes Resale in College Park · Not only does this award winning shop have a great collection of vintage items and clothing, but each month they host a get together in their store with live music, wine, appetizers and their special punch concoction.

      They specialize in vintage clothing, accessories and collectibles. Dechoes’ selection includes items from the 1900’s to the 1980’s; from era attires to jewelry, fine china, toys, and home decor. My favorite location is the shop in College Park.

      Cida’s Consignment Shop in Winter Park · A friend of mine introduced me to this place one year when we were looking for formal evening gowns for a gala we were going to. Cida’s Consignment on Park Avenue houses designers like Chanel, Armani, Escada, St. John, Pucci, Missoni, Manolo Blahnik, Jimmy Choo, Prada, and many more in an upscale yet inviting environment. If you can’t find designer names at reasonable prices or if you are looking for a designer vintage piece, Cida’s is worth a visit. All the clothing is on consignment and in excellent condition. I’ll take a picture of the dress I snatched up.

      1618 Something Different. Something Retro at Ivanhoe Village · I adore mid-century modern furniture, so this is one of those stores that makes the butterflies in my stomach do a little dance. It is pricey, but the quality is fantastic and unique! One day, as I was heading to IKEA I drove by and they were having a “Yard Sale”. I quickly made a U-turn and I couldn’t believe my eyes. To make what could be a long mid-century geeky long story short I ended up with a gorgeous white leather stool, a huge original piece of artwork, and a life-size table lamp all for $50!

      Plato’s Closet in Colonial Park · Is a great place to buy and sell trendy designer brand clothes and accessories. I haven’t made it to this store as much as I’d like to, but I did snap an awesome pair of Guess shorts on my last visit.

      All the Right Stuff Consignment in College Park· Sells high end furniture, home decor and gorgeous jewelry pieces at pretty decent prices. I was looking for home decor and some pieces of furniture during my last visit and got a wonderful little pounded nickel vase.

      My new thing is accessories since I’m trying to wear more of the items that are actually in my closet. Below are places that I would like to visit in the near future for accessories:
      Etoile Boutique
      Dejavu Vintage
      Orlando Vintage Clothing
      Paris Market
      Found (A Vintage Shop)
      Amy’s Walk In Closet

      Whitney, you should come over to Orlando for a shopping visit!!!

  5. Maryam says:

    hello!!! just saw your pics on fashion bomb .. i just moved to the dallas area last week for work and this list is what i’ve been looking for(excited) ..thanx now i just need to find my way around to them all lol ! i also need to know about the night life in dallas ? i like lounges and hotel lounges like the W. any recommendations?

  6. imagemaven says:

    @Maryam great Im glad you found it useful! Do you like live music? There are a lot of different types of places here in dallas. Actually, email me and I can tell you how to get to the stores, there are a few more that I didnt list yet that are fab too. whitney@theiamconsultingfirm.com

  7. imagemaven says:

    @Carmen thanks for the stores. Ill be sure to check them out next time im in orlando

  8. Aleia says:

    Omfug! I went with my little sister to St Vincent de Paul today & found Christian Dior & Issac Mizrahi blazers for $6.99! I still have to inspect them but they look & feel real. Plus I got 5 other items! Amazing place! Good suggestion!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Wearing one of my cheap chic outfits. […]



Leave a Reply

