Natural Skin Care: Day 1

Since November when I did the big chop and got off the hair crack perms, my hair has responded so well. Better than I expected. Its grown from  and inch or 2 …

to a pretty decent length in only 9 months.

I think it has a lot to do with me using all natural products. I’ve been testing out all different kinds of hair products and mixtures of oils, powders, teas, you name it. If you are curious about my hair regimen check out my post on ayurvedic hair treatments here. I got to thinking , how else can I incorporate natural products into my beauty routine. Then it hit me. Skin care! I have CRAZY bad skin, seriously y’all. I was (and still am on occasion)  a victim acne, break outs, giant zits, you name it until I started using proactive about 8 years ago, but lately it hasnt been working as well and began researching natural skin care alternatives. So after checking out a few sites and blogs, I decided to go with the oil cleansing method (OCM). I know it sounds a little strange but here is some background on it.

OCM

Basically, you use a mixture of natural and essential oils, applied directly to the skin to remove dirt, bacteria and other impurities. Although this may seem counter intuitive to most of the things you have heard about skin care and what they tell you in the acne commercials, its true. The majority of those products strip your skin of everything . Good and bad, and that can cause irritation and dryness. Your skin naturally produces oil because it needs it, it’s there to benefit your skin. It is naturally occurring. Not only does your natural oil help lubricate, it also heals, protects, and moisturizes your skin so that it will function properly.  Oils such as castor oil actually draw out and dissolve the impurities, dead skin cells, bacteria, etc  from your skin that can lead to acne.  Castor oil is the base in most OCM’s and it can help restore your skins natural balance.

Ok so now that you know a little bit about the OCM  here is the recipe I mixed and started using today .

Step #1 Cleanser

60% castor oil, 20%hazelnut oil, 20% grapeseed oil

Instructions:  Mix these oils together in a clean container and shake well. Apply a small amount to your hands and massage into your skin. Get a small hand towel run it under hot water, ring it out and set it on your face until it cools to room temp, re wet the towel, ring it out and apply to your face again. Or if you are too lazy to do that you can apply your oil cleanser  and hop in the shower and let the steam from the shower steam your face. Be sure to wipe your face off with a warm towel after you are done to remove any excess oil. The steam helps open your pores and lets the castor oil draw out the impurities in your skin, while the grapeseed and hazelnut oils mosturize.  After you are done be sure to rinse your face with cool water to close the pores again.

Step #2 : Toner

2oz Apple cider vinegar (ACV)

2oz distilled water

2-3 green tea bags

6 drops of tea tree oil

Boil the water ( since I was making a small test batch, I just put the water in the microwave as opposed to a pot) and add the green tea bags and let it sit for 20 min or so, then let it cool. Then add the ACV and tea tree oil. I combined these in a small spritz bottle so its easy to apply to my face. After lightly spritzing my face with toner I moisturized.

Step #3 Moisturizer

I use a bout a dime size of grapeseed oil.

Grapeseed oil is great for oily, acne prone skin because its light and acts as a natural astringent (good for fighting acne).

That’s about it! so I just officially started today, but it seems to be working well. My skin is a diva and very temperamental. I can usually tell within 24 hours if something is going to work or not. I will follow up with some pictures in a few weeks. I am mostly excited about getting rid of my $200/yr proactive! Also, have you ever looked to see how many chemicals are in some skin care products? Its seriously frightening especially considering that about 80% of what you put on your skin gets into your blood stream. Yikes.

Here are some of the  sites I visited to get info on the OCM

Acne.org

oilcleansingmethod.com

Comments
5 Responses to “Natural Skin Care: Day 1”
  1. lexi williams says:

    I’ve been thinking about this for awhile. It is true! I suppose I will make the switch too!great write up!

  2. LIsa says:

    I just started the OCM and it’s been amazing. Absolutely no new breakouts and old scars are healing up nicely. I use castor, grapeseed, and jojoba oil because i couldn’t find the hazelnut when i went. I plan to add it to my regimen soon. AWESOME!

  3. imagemaven says:

    @lisa I found the hazelnut oil in the cooking isle at whole foods.

  4. How’s your OCM routine going? I started last week and I’m loving it!

  5. imagemaven says:

    @Carmen its going really good. its been a few weeks and my skin seems to love it!

Leave a Reply

