Experimenting with fashion at work?

If you are anything like me, you like to experiment with fashion. One of my favorite things to do is to put together new looks from the clothes I already have in my closet. I usually have an idea in my head of what I want to look like or maybe I saw a cute outfit in a picture that I want to try to recreate. I always keep in mind my personal style and what works for my body type.  I try to create a look in a few different ways. I’ll try it “Whitney style”, then next maybe add more color for some funk, then maybe create the simple, minimal version of the look then I’ll choose my favorite and wear it. I like to create multiple options for the outfit before hand because I’m usually getting dressed in a hurry and I dont have time to play dress up in the morning. I like to know exactly what I’m going to wear from the outfit to the shoes and accessories so I can get dressed quickly and just in case I want to mix it up, I already know what works.

Most of my looks are not “office appropriate” because I love to wear skirts and dresses that show a bit too much leg for a traditional office. It’s one thing when I’m out meeting clients, but quite another when I have to go to the office.  Sometimes I get bold, get my game face on and just rock my look. I get a lot of crazy looks, but that’s ok, they should be used to it by now

Take today for example, I experimented with a bold patterned head scarf with a funky 80’s vibe.  I know it might not seem like a big “fashion experiment”, but I usually don’t wear hats, scarfs or anything like that so its an experiment for me! I kept the outfit very basic…

I saw this sweet old school mustang parked in the lot and I had to take a picture in front of it! I had to refrain from laying on the hood, because I have no idea who that car belongs to!

I had on something way more bold this morning, but I lost my nerve and changed 😦 I had on the same scarf, with a pink button up, buttoned all the way up to the top, with a blue blazer, the same black skinny jeans and sky high heels.  It was really cute, but I thought it might be a bit much for the office folks…

Here are a few outtakes from my mini photoshoot. I thought they were funny. I feel like you always see fashion bloggers looking picture perfect all the time. So I thought I would bring a little realness…not every picture and pose works.  Case and point…

I’m a goof ball.. I know.

The pictures were taken by my awesome coworkers Alex and Heather!

Alex has an amazing blog that I love! She talks about free/cheap things to do in Dallas check her out here

Heather is my official photographer and you can check her out on her facebook page here.

Comments
2 Responses to “Experimenting with fashion at work?”
  1. Awesomeness!! I like the last one picture!! It’s so you!! Thanks for being a “Real & Honest” Blogger 🙂

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] you brave enough to wear it? Click here to check me out wearing a turban-esque head scarf for the first […]



Leave a Reply

