Fall skin and hair care tips

In the fall do you notice your skin starts to change? My skin is strange, it’s part oily and part dry and in the fall my oily skin gets dry and my dry skin gets dryer. The key to protecting your skin in the fall is moisture, moisture, moisture! I recently switched from using Vaseline’s cocoa butter lotion to 100% shea butter and its made a world of difference. My skin seems to be less ashy and retain a lot more moisture.  A few other good rules of thumb are:

Drink lots of water

To replace the moisture that is lost from the dry air moisturize your skin from within by drinking more water

Oil as a moisturizer or an oil based moisturizer

My skin on my face gets so dry and tight especially around my eyes. I started using grapeseed oil as a moisturizer and it really helped

Dont forget your lips

Lips are skin too! Purchasing some extra chapstick doesnt hurt.

Hair

The same thing goes for your hair. Lay off of the excessive heat and blow dryers, it will just exacerbate dry hair.  If you can, opt for a protective style like a sew-in, braids or a wig to protect your hair from the dry air. I have been wearing a half wig for the past month to protect my hair. I covered the step by step process on how to cut and style the half wig and protect your hair underneath in my previous post.

Be sure to add some type of leave in or essential oil to your scalp for protection in the harsh fall air. Hot oil treatments during your weekly styling routine also help combat dryness.

I hope these were a few useful tips on how to keep your skin looking its best during the fall.

Comments
3 Responses to “Fall skin and hair care tips”
  1. Melissa J says:

    I’ve been experiencing dry skin lately and have come across this great lotion: Korress all Natural Brand..it’s Awesome! Another one is Caudalie which is also a Natural Brand product and there’s always Dr. Brandt. Check em out when you get a chance.

  2. imagemaven says:

    hmm Ill have to try that! Im working on another dry skin post, my skin has been out of control this past week.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] For more info and other tips. Check out Imagemaven here […]



Leave a Reply

