Steps to growing long hair

I’ve been reading Grow it! by Chicoro and that book has altered my hair care regimen for the better.

Without giving away all of the contents of the book, here are the three key things the book has taught me.

1. Handle your hair gently

The key to long hair growth is to care for every strand of your hair hair. Handle it gently while you’re detangling and manipulating it.

2. Figure out which products work best for your hair

Find out whether your hair works best with shampoo and conditioner or if you need to nix the shampoo all together. Your hair can still be clean without shampoo. READ the labels on the back of your products. Educate yourself about what you are putting on your hair. The products you are currently using may not be working for you and you aren’t even paying close enough attention to notice.

3. Find out what you are missing from your regimen

If your hair requires extra moisture ,add that. If your hair does better with regular protein treatments or henna treatments be sure to add that in. The only way to find out what’s best for your hair is trial and error. What works for one girl might not necessarily work for you.

The book is totally worth it! There is some seriously great info in there.

So taking my own advice, something I was missing from my hair care regimen was a regular protein treatment to strengthen my hair. I tried Aphogee’s two step protein treatment.

I followed the instructions on the back on the bottle. I put it in my hair and sat under the dryer until it hardened. It smelled like crap, but thats besides the point.  After I rinsesd it out, I honestly didnt really notice a difference in my hair. But this is the first time I’ve done a protien treatment since I’ve been natural. I think I’ll try it again, but with a different brand. Oh well, trial and error.

Leave a Reply

