One year of hair natural hair growth

Yesterday I oddly got the urge to straighten my hair. Its been almost a year since I straightened it last. Here is my natural hair journey over the past year.

This was a few days after the big chop, December 2009. It’s gelled down so it looks a lot shorter than it is, but was only about 2 inches long

I straightened my hair in December 2009 as well. I put 2 pieces of weave in the front to make my bangs reach my eyebrows

One month later I straighten my hair for my B-day in Jan 2010

Headshots I took for my business Feb 2010

March 2010. They were trying to make me flex at the club. This is my I’m gonna get y’all face.

Before my first triathlon April 2010

July 2010

Aug 2010

September 2010

Frizzy hair at a fashion event Oct 2010

At home in Houston Thanksgiving 2010

Straightened hair Dec 2010. I had to curl it for it to look right since my Chi did not get hot enough to straighten it flat.

Here is the process I followed.

I colored my hair black using Bigen oriental black. My roots were a little reddish brown from my regular heena treatments.

Next, I used Neturogena clarifying shampoo.

Next, I used a moisturizing shampoo

I used Afroveda conditioning shampoo

Next, I used conditioner and sat under the dryer for 30 min

I used Taliah Waajid enhancing herbal conditioner

Before I sat under the dryer I detangled my hair with  a wide tooth comb. After I was done conditioning my hair I applied John Frieda’s frizz ease hair serum, with thermal protection to help protect my hair from the heat of the blow dryer and flat iron

Then I blow dried with a paddle brush my hair in sections focusing on the roots.

The finished product after blow drying. I know I look hott..

Last, I used Tresemme no frizz shine spray to give my hair a little extra shine while flat ironing. I used my chi to flat iron, but it didnt really get hot enough so my hair came out kind of fluffy. Here is my hair from a few different angles.

5 hours of work went into this look. I’m sooo not doing this again myself!

Comments
12 Responses to “One year of hair natural hair growth”
  1. Lauren says:

    Wow! You look so amazing! Also, I am in love with your June dress! Do you mind sharing where you got it??

  2. imagemaven says:

    Aww thanks! I got it from forever 21

  3. Simone says:

    Your hair looks really healthy…hopefully mine will too. We’ll see, I make 1 year in March 2011….

  4. Rashida says:

    That red lipstick looks beautiful on you!

  5. imagemaven says:

    @simone thanks cuz! I know yours will be pretty too.

    @rashida thanks!

  6. CMC says:

    It’s Better to have puffy big healthy hair than straight damaged thin hair! Girl what do you use on your face?! Your skin is AMAZING

  7. imagemaven says:

    @CMC thanks. I am experimenting with a mix of natural things, but most of the time I use proactive until I find the right balance of products that work for my crazy skin

  8. Juanette says:

    awesome growth progress, love the striped f21 dress!

  9. Marilyn says:

    Hey lady! First of all, you a absolutely gorgeous! I’m 8 months completely natural now..When I Google “one yr of natural hair growth”, I came across your lovely blog! You’ve had a tremendous amount of growth. I hope to accomplish the same length by the time a yr approaches!

  10. ken says:

    You certainly have a lot of different looks there. Way to go.

Leave a Reply

