Would you quit your career to marry a man?

A few days ago it was reported that Kate Middleton, new fiancé of Prince William, quit her job as a Project Manager at her parents party supply store to focus on planning her upcoming nuptials. While I totally get that she is going to a future princess, initially this news kind of infuriated me.  I am a definite feminist and I totally object any woman quitting her job/career to marry some guy. I know what you’re thinking, Kate is marrying Prince William, she doesn’t need to work anymore. Right?

Sure, but why does she have to drop what she’s doing to marry him and assume his identity? I do realize Kate and Prince William’s situation is extremely different than us “normal folks”. That’s kind of what she signed up for when she said yes to his proposal. But there are other normal women that do this as well. Why do some women feel the need to assume a man’s identity just because he wants to marry her? Although not all women take it to this extreme, we all do it to some extent. For example, with my boyfriend of two years, I find myself being way more domestic than I ever thought I would; cooking, cleaning, totally rearranging and/or dropping my schedule to accommodate his, etc. Why when we get serious with a guy does this strange domestic switch come on that makes us want to drop everything and cater to a man? Is it just our nature? Is it what we feel we are supposed to do because society says so? I’m curious.

Now, let me clarify a few things. I’m not saying that you should be some kind of domineering, unyielding woman. Relationships are definitely about give and take and the natural (even Biblical) roles of a man and women. But these are modern times. Most women have careers, goals and aspirations outside of getting married and becoming a stay at home mom. Not that there is anything wrong with that being a homemaker, hats off to those women because I don’t think I could do it. What I’m talking about is dropping your dreams and goals to be someone’s wife. I obviously have a very strong opinion about it, but what do y’all think? Why do women do it?

Comments
4 Responses to “Would you quit your career to marry a man?”
  1. I think the point of the movement was to bring about choice. If a woman chooses to pursue her career after marriage and motherhood, that’s her choice. If she chooses not to, that’s her choice as well and who knows, maybe quitting her job to focus on her nuptials is the choice of the Princess-to-be. Or maybe she got fired. Maybe her parents said, “Get out of here. You don’t need this job anymore.”

  2. imagemaven says:

    I totally agree, it’s definitely a choice, but I guess I just don’t get it sometimes. If you had a job or career you loved before you got married suddenly you don’t love it once you get married?! I totally understand staying home with the kids, but I’m talking about before the kids come along. I think it helps make you who you are to go out into the world and do your thing. Then you can come home to your hubby and talk about your day together. I think it makes you more interesting…but that’s just my 2 cents.

  3. Shar says:

    Giving up a job is one thing. Abandoning your passion is another. Working for one’s family is not necessarily a fulfilling task, it is sometimes done out of obligation. Kate is “regular folk” after all. She may be able to follow/discover her passion now that she has the means to do so. Let’s face it, some of the more rewarding fields don’t get the bills paid.

    Beware not to become a carbon copy and lose yourself because then you run the risk of your honey missing the original.

Leave a Reply

