High Heels: Friend or Foe?

What girl doesn’t love high heels? I do! They are sexy, make your outfit fierce and make you feel fabulous. But why do they hurt so bad?! I’ve noticed that within the past year I haven’t been able to stand the discomfort as often as I used to. I’m ashamed to say it, but heels have all together disappeared from my daily wardrobe. The only time I wear heels is when I go out at night with my girlfriends, to interview or on a date. I wish I was one of those girls who wore heels all of the time, but sadly, I’m only human. After doing a little research, I found out that wearing heels can have some pretty negative effects.  High heels can cause:

  • Bunions
  • Damage to your knees
  • Numbness in the toes
  • Misaligned hips and spine
  • Hammer toes
  • Nerve damage

Sadly, as I read this horrible list, it’s still not enough to make me stop wearing heels all together but it does make me think twice before I put them on. But like most women, fashion trumps practicality every time. How often do you wear heels?

Picture source

Comments
3 Responses to “High Heels: Friend or Foe?”
  1. I was a daily wearer of heels to disguise the fact that my legs aren’t long & also because they look better than flats. Sadly, these days as a new mom flats or low heels are the more practical option, but I still wear & adore all my heels when I can. I love what they do for my overall look. I think they give me greater presence, too.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] wrote a post not too long ago on my personal relationship with heels. I love them, but can’t really wear […]



Leave a Reply

