Christian Louboutin Hates Comfort?!

I don’t know if you’ve seen the Christian Louboutin interview with the New Yorker that hit the internet today, but as I was reading it he said something that frankly pissed me off.  After he went on and on to New Yorker writer Lauren Collins about his mom, school, etc. Mr. Loubou said he hates comfort. When going off on a tangent about clogs he was quoted as saying …

“I hate the whole concept of comfort! It’s like when people say, ‘Well, we’re not really in love, but we’re in a comfortable relationship.’ You’re abandoning a lot of ideas when you are too into comfort. ‘Comfy’—that’s one of the worst words! I just picture a woman feeling bad, with a big bottle of alcohol, really puffy.”

Well, his attitude is evident by his amazing, yet sky high heels which he says he designs not only for women to wear, but for men to ogle.

He said, “The core of my work is dedicated not to pleasing women, but to pleasing men …Men are like bulls. They cannot resist the red sole”

As chauvinistic as his comments sound, I refuse to believe he doesn’t keep women top of mind when deigning shoes but he can take  his little attitude somewhere else.  His comments really pissed me off. I mean, do men even understand what we go through to wear sky high 5 – 6 inch heels for hours on end? Do they even care? Nope. As long as you or your ass, your legs, your ___fill in the blank___looks good, they could care less.  I understand it’s in the name of fashion, a new trend, looking sexy or whatever, but you would think the designer of one of the most recognizable luxury shoe brands in the world would show a little more compassion for the women’s feet he tortures.

I wrote a post not too long ago on my personal relationship with heels. I love them, but can’t really wear them anymore. They are too uncomfortable! I am just as much as a fashionista as the next girl, but I think you can be comfortable (even embrace comfort) AND fashionable at the same time. You don’t have to kill yourself or sacrifice your feet to the designer shoe Gods to look amazing and appealing. Personally, I would like to see Mr. Louboutin wear a pair of his shoes and go to work for 8 hours, go to meetings, run errands, etc.  for just one day.  THEN we will see what he says about comfort…*three snaps and a neck twist*

Picture Source

We’ll be waiting Mr. Loubou…

Leave a Reply

