What Color is Your Denim?

Believe it or not, the shade of denim you wear has a huge impact on your outfit. It’s something that most people should pay closer attention to. Personally, I’m not a huge fan of light-colored denim. It doesn’t matter if it is the latest trend or not.  There is something about a super light wash that gives me the ick factor. Plus, I think people, women in particular, look much more polished in darker washes. Especially if you’re a more “mature” lady. Darker colored jeans make your outfit look more polished and put together.  Unless you are a 20 something following a trend (that will only last for a nano second anyway), you should not be wearing jeans lighter than this.

Jeans lighter than this tend to show more lumps and bumps and are just kind of icky. As an image consultant, it’s just my personal preference but I usually make my clients throw away all of their light-colored jeans. But in defense of my trendy 20 somethings, light jeans can look cute if worn correctly.  I think Rihanna looks adorable here wearing light denim.

But most people get jeans like those  confused with something like this…

There are so many things wrong with this pair of jeans I don’t know where to start. So I won’t. These jeans are not made for a woman. They are made for a girl. If you are over the age of 16 these are not for you!

A darker wash with no distressing will be universally more flattering on EVERYONE. Something like this generally works.

I’m talking about the color, not necessarily the cut.  Tomorrow I’ll be talking about which cut of jeans you should wear for your body type so stay tuned…

Comments
One Response to “What Color is Your Denim?”

Leave a Reply

