In the Kitchen: Chicken and Sausage Soup

So I was cooking up a storm this weekend and I used my original sausage and black bean soup recipe and modified it a little bit based on what I had in my fridge: Here are the ingredients I used:

Ingredients

  • 3 multicolored bell peppers
  • 1 package turkey sausage (Eckridge)
  • 24 oz chicken broth
  • Leftover grilled chicken
  • Fresh corn salsa (my mom made it for me, but you can use 1/4 cup of regular salsa instead)
  • 1 fresh jalapeno

Instructions

Spray a medium-sized pot with pam and slice up the entire package turkey sausage and add it to the pot to brown. Then, dice the bell peppers and add them to the pot with the sausage to brown a little bit. Next, I just deboned my leftover chicken and cut it into pieces and added that to the pot as well ( you can use any kind of chicken you want here). After that, add your chicken broth and bring the pot to a slight boil. Last, add 1/4 cup of salsa. Stir the pot a few times, reduce the heat, cover it and let it simmer for 10 minutes. After the 10 minutes are up, I usually add a little fresh diced jalapeno to it spicy. Mmmm

Now your yummy healthy soup is ready to serve!

It’s my go to recipe when I don’t feel like spending an hour in the kitchen, but I want to make something quick, easy and healthy.

Comments
One Response to “In the Kitchen: Chicken and Sausage Soup”
  1. Heather says:

    I absolutely love the black bean and sausage soup. It tastes amazing, even a picky eater like my husband is a fan of it and it’s a good healthy alternative for dinner.

Leave a Reply

